Flower power, just watch out for bees

So it’s springtime in central Arizona, which means that the temperature dances around the 90-degree mark but it still gets nice and cool at night.  This will change soon when it will get about 120 degrees or so by around 3pm, and the temps barely dip below triple digits at night.  I know that some of you out there who don’t know me that well will think to yourself, “But isn’t that a dry heat?”  Those of you who don’t know me that well that think that will soon be thinking something different as I forcibly shove you into a toaster oven and turn it on high simply because you will be experiencing a dry heat as well.  The fact that it’s a relatively dry heat doesn’t exactly make up for the fact that I keep an oven mitt and a towel in the car in the summer.  The oven mitt is for the gear shift and the towel is for the steering wheel.  Sometimes I get a burn mark on my hip in the shape of my seat belt buckle as it burns through my clothes.  Dry heat, sure.

At any rate, I didn’t really want to spend this post expounding on dry heat torture.  I actually wanted to share with all y’all some pictures of our front yard at this time:

 cactus1

 

Here is our prickly pear, resplendent with come lovely blooms.  And some Africanized bees.  Unfortunately, most of the bees around here are of the Africanized variety, unless you are a beekeeper.  I had to deep breathe around these guys.  I’m terrified of bees.  Am I allergic to stings?  Unfortunately, I’m not sure — I’ve never been stung because I avoid them.

 

cactus2

 

This is our octopus agave’s stalk.  This agave is about 3 generations from the original from the MIL’s garden, and this one is about to give up the ghost.  See all those little flowers?  Those are potential baby agaves.  All 10 kazillion of them.  Aww.  This stalk is already about 20 feet tall and you can almost watch it grow.  The Hubster had to prune the palo verde that it’s growing through so as not to impede the growth of the stalk. 

 

cactus3

Just past the agave is one of the aloes that is from the google of pups dropped by a single scrawny aloe that I got from a ribbon cutting when I was working with the Chamber of Commerce.  That damn plant bred like a hermaphroditic bunny, and we were nearly overrun with the things.  The hummingbirds like the blooms, though, and yes, there’s a little hummingbird in the red oval.  We have a couple of nesting pairs in our yard, the bold little buggers.  I should put out some more yarn for them.

 

roses

 

And lastly, our Tombstone Rose bush.  I love how this thing explodes every year with very little prodding from us.  And when I say “us”, I mean “the Hubster”, because I don’t do a damn thing in the yard.  But we both get the enjoy the little roses and then the snowdrift of all the little petals.  See?  The desert can be pretty.  Even in a dry heat.

About The Knitting Cinephile

I'm obsessed with good yarn, bad movies, and the Hubster.
Aside | This entry was posted in Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flower power, just watch out for bees

  1. Roxie the Outlaw says:

    I love seeing how different the landscape is in other parts of the country. Thanks for sharing. And your comments on the dry heat had me laughing out loud. Nice!

    Like

Let me know what you REALLY think!

