Sometimes it’s better to not be so much of a Good Samaritan.

You have to wonder what kind of day you’re going to have when the first thing you see when you drive into the parking lot at work is a random dude vomiting. This raised a few questions for me:

  1. “What the Hell?”  The answer:  yes, that’s a dude, and he’s vomiting.
  2. “Who is that guy?”  The answer: I didn’t know.  I actually don’t know a lot of guys who work on the shop floor by name.  I do know a number of them on sight, and since I’m Southern by at least geography of birth, I can get away with calling people “sweetie” or “honey” a lot of the times when names escape me.   The vomiting guy, though, I didn’t recognize.  He also wasn’t wearing the normal clothing of the shop floor; that is, a long-sleeved shirt, long pants, and steel-toed shoes.  The vomiting guy was wearing a shirt with the sleeves cut off, a pair of those nylon shorts/culottes that are so popular with the young men today (and yes, he was wearing them halfway down his ass but he was fortunately wearing boxers beneath them), white tube socks, and those black slides.
  3. “Should I do anything?”  The answer, at least to myself, was “Jeez, I hope not.”  The guy did lurch out of the back seat of 4-Runner vehicle, and he had his own 13-gallon wastebasket to vomit in.  I know it wasn’t one from the building because it was a white wastebasket, and all the office ones are black.  I was happy to see that he prepared for the eventuality of vomiting, whatever he was doing before he reached our parking lot.
  4. “Are you okay?”  This question was asked out loud to the vomiting guy.  Thankfully, his answer was “Yeah, I’m okay”, hurredly uttered right before he yurped into the wastebasket again.  I went inside and saw Roy, the plant manager, and told him, “There’s a guy vomiting in our parking lot.”  His answer: “Well, I’m not going out there.”

So, Vomiting Guy, I don’t know who you are, but you said you were okay, so I’m going to let you vomit in peace.  If you’re really sick, there’s a hospital a few miles away.  If you’re just hung over, I would have chosen a better spot to puke in, instead of a parking lot of a noisy aluminum extrusion plant on a road that’s being repaved.  We all have choices, kiddo, just try to make the best ones.

 

About The Knitting Cinephile

I'm obsessed with good yarn, bad movies, and the Hubster.
This entry was posted in Working in a coal mine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you REALLY think!

