oh, like any of you were surprised

As you get older, obviously, you continue to learn things about yourself.  In particular, you learn things about yourself in the context of your work, and my work currently has to do with talking on the phone to people – customers, sales reps, various crank calls and weirdos . . . and I have found out something about myself.

I don’t like people.

I suppose I should clarify. I do like some people.  I mean, I like you guys, even though I don’t know most of you.    But then I’m not actively out there seeking out people to bring into my circle of acquianance.  At my previous job, I went nearly 4 years before I learned everyone’s name, and it wasn’t that big of an office.  Here at Big Conglomerate Huge Office in 3 Buildings (or, if you like, Six Flags over Stent Grafts and Biopsy Needles) there’s lots of people I really don’t ever have to meet.  And that’s okay with me.

 Working on the phone is interesting because I can despise people without ever having to get to know them.  My experience with them is so limited (usually 2 minutes or less) that I never have to invest into any kind of relationship.   Shelley (of I Miss My Sanity) probably understands this best.  I sure she remembers my habit of being very sweet-voiced on the phone and then growling “fucker” as soon as the connection is broken.   Of course, anyone who’s worked in customer service knows that every single caller is a moron, no exception.  I mean, really, if you do this all day long, every single day, don’t you get asked for the same information every time?  So if I have to ask for the same information and then have to wait for you to figure out which is your ass and which is your elbow, don’t you think I will opine that you’re mentally deficient?  Seriously!

Misanthropic?  Maybe.  But then I’m sure that the people on the other end of the phone don’t particularly care for me either, so it all works out in the end.   I mean, I don’t have to like people, and I suppose it might make life more interesting to meet more people, but I like the folks I have currently.  Besides, a good number of them like me too, and that’s pretty good.

About The Knitting Cinephile

I'm obsessed with good yarn, bad movies, and the Hubster.
This entry was posted in Scotvalkyrie is a grade-A goofball, Working in a coal mine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you REALLY think!

