so stand up and shake what your mama gave ya

Dear Friends,

I used to be funny. Wasn’t I funny at one time? In the past, if a hapless reader happened to click on my blog, that person would be treated to a rant on pants or some hilarious photos with snarky commentary, or even a “what if” scenario involving mud wrestling between unlikely sparring partners.

So what has happened? I hardly write anything here anymore, and when I do, it is either an apology for not writing, or is some minutiae regarding my life, which is generally galumphing along as lives generally do.

But what has happened to my Funny? Where did it go?

I’m blaming the medication. I got new meds because the Hubster thought I was being a bit too manic, which I was – bouncing off the walls and all, flitting hither and yon without a purpose. But actually, what this means is that I can blame the Hubster for effectively squashing my Funny – his being a Vulcan and all.

What a poophead. His butt smells really farty, you know.

Anyway, at this moment my mother is puttering around my house while I’m at work, and she’s already started with the “but I’m here, so why do you have to work” deal when I’ve told her about a gazillion times that I have hardly any vacation time and I want to actually go on Holiday with the Hubster this year (even with his farty butt) but that would be logical, and any long-time reader of this blog will know that logic and my mother are two mutually exclusive terms, as well as:

  • Hamburger steaks
  • Military intelligence
  • Jumbo shrimp

Feel free to add your own. Anyhoo, I don’t have a lot of free time here at work, not like the last job at all – which was more like happy sexy dancing fun knitting movie-watching time than actual work – which is probably also why my job eventually got offshored to India, ne? Hmpf.

The fact that I’ve even been able to type this – in little spurts and starts – shows that it’s slow today, which is fine by me! I wish though, that I wasn’t seated so close to the office snoop, because then I’d feel more at ease about my clandestine blogging – gads, she’s such a Gollum, and a snoopy, brown-nosing Gollum at that! Ech.

But I will be spending the next two weeks entertaining my mother every single second of every single day, which should be good blogging fodder, or at least some good vitriol. Keep watching this space.

About The Knitting Cinephile

I'm obsessed with good yarn, bad movies, and the Hubster.
This entry was posted in Conversations with Hubster, Working in a coal mine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to so stand up and shake what your mama gave ya

  1. poolagirl says:

    I will deffo keep watching!

    Like

  2. Shelley says:

    It’s a well known fact that Vulcans have NO sense of humor.

    Congrats on the benefits and all! That’s pretty cool. As for the meds…they’ll help you deal with mom, right? Hang in there. 🙂

    Like

  3. Anne says:

    I’ve been watching, and will continue! Congratulations on the job, dear.

    Like

  4. awittykitty says:

    Jeeze, I didn’t know you were still writing. My bad. I’ll have to go spank Guardcat. Mothers, are indeed, great blog fodder. I used to write about mine alot in the early days. So.much.material. But so many people in my life (aka Facebook) know about me now, I can no longer write…THE TRUTH. My funny kind of left last year with the cancer. We need a funny vacation, Scotvalkrie. The world needs us. Whadda ya say?

    Like

Let me know what you REALLY think!

