mmmmmm . . . brains

I’m currently hiding in the back of the house because the Hubster is making horrible noises with his router.  He ‘s been building a new aquarium stand and he’s doing some pretty intricate work — as he should be since he spent several hundred dollars on new tools to build this thing.  It will be lovely when it’s done, I know, but the tool noises and the smell of dull blades chewing their way through wood is giving me bad flashbacks to the old old job.   The other night was the absolute worst, though . . . he was painting the shelf area where the aquarium will actually sit with black latex paint, and black latex has a peculiar odor to it.  It’s probably the lampblack pigment itself; at any rate, the smell transports me back to seven years ago when that was the odor I was immersed in for zillions of hours a week.

The new new job continues, and after six weeks, I finally have my head wrapped around the methodology of training:

  1. Get thrown to the wolves.
  2. Fuck up reprehensibly.
  3. Get thrown to the wolves again.
  4. Get told in exasperated tones at a very fast rate of speed how to fix the problem.
  5. At the same time, fix other people’s reprehensible fuck-ups.
  6. Hear, “You’re doing a great job.”
  7. Repeat.

I’m not sure why it took me six weeks to figure this out, because the Hubster divined the method nearly instantaneously.   But then he’s a total geek and a dweeb and an engineer for heaven’s sake; he’s hard-wired for following a flowchart, whereas I’m all organic and hippie-dippy and watching the music and hearing the flowers and all. 

Oh well, each day gets a little easier, but I think that might be also because I’ve started the habit of taking an extra anti-anxiety pill midway through the day.   Yahoo for modern pharmacueticals!  (which also help with the watching the music and hearing the flowers)

Hubster is still surviving being 40, and today we went to see Zombieland, which I thought was very cleverly written and a hoot and a half, despite the fact that Woody Harrelson has been playing the same role for about 10 years now.  It’s a wee bit old, but then Bruce Willis and Brad Pitt are also doing the same.  Marty Scorcese has a new one coming out with Leonardo DiCaprio called Shutter Island that also looks quite good, but I can guarantee that the Hubster won’t be watching that one with me.  He doesn’t go into psychological thrillers so much.  He likes things blowing up, naked hooters, and zombies.  We got two out of three with Zombieland, so it was a good day.

What would make the day even better?  How about some knitted zombies?

knittedzombies

Do you suppose knitted zombies eat yarn barf instead of brains?

About The Knitting Cinephile

I'm obsessed with good yarn, bad movies, and the Hubster.
This entry was posted in Conversations with Hubster, Pictures, The Good Stuff, and I Really Do Mean Good, Working in a coal mine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to mmmmmm . . . brains

  1. Ken Kendall says:

    Sounds like your husband is quite the do-it-yourselfer.

    I write a blog about marriage and how men can better love their wives. I hope you and your husband will check it out when you have a chance.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

    Like

  2. poolagirl says:

    Oh! Oh! The knitted zombies are….FABOOO!

    Like

  3. artgnome says:

    go see “Men Who Stare at Goats” very funny.

    Like

Let me know what you REALLY think!

